Ode to Summer

I have been negligent in keeping up my blog lately, so this week I plan to share some new work.  Being that I am in a New York state of mind, the photos will be of the city I call home.  Enjoy!

****

As part of my journey, I have returned to shooting film – 35mm, 127 roll film and polaroid.  I love the unpredictability of expired film, especially color.  Finding places to develop color has been a challenge, and converting those negatives to digital has proven even more difficult (and cumbersome).  The results, however, I think, speak for themselves.

This shot – Kustard King – is my nod to summer.  Thank God for soft serve on blazing hot nights!  Shot in June, 2012 with Canon AE-1 using expired (2003) 35mm Kodak Gold/ISO 100.

3 thoughts on “Ode to Summer

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog, and for your kind words!
    Yes, photographing with film is just so rewarding, in many different ways! And it feels so good to choose it too!
    Have a great day!
    Marie

    • Marie – Thanks for the kind words. I’m playing and experimenting with film right now. Trying to find those shots/scenes that are best in film and those that are best in digital. I love your work – you have an amazing eye!

Leave a Reply

